Darling Dondy! & Expansion update…

Saturday 21st January….

After Ruby and my midday sleep I headed to Chermside for some time to myself!  I’m sure it’s patently obvious that I adore my husband and daughter, but I am acutely aware that with bub number two’s impending arrival that time to myself is going to be a rarity…  I had some lunch at a cafe, bought some shoes, and an engagement present and just had a little wander around.  It was nice 🙂

Saturday evening we had the engagement party of Anton’s gorgeous baby cousin J, to her long time beau, B.  They’re a beautiful couple and it was lovely to be able to celebrate with them.

Rubyroo, as Mummy and Dadda were off out to Aunty J & Uncle B’s engagement party for the night, your Dondy came to put you to bed and stay with you.  You barely even gave us a backward glance as Dondy read you stories and gave you your nightly bottle.  We are so grateful that you have such a special bond with her and obviously feel so secure in her arms and company.  Dondy is pretty smitten with you and I’m not sure you could do ANYTHING to taint that 🙂  In case you wonder one day where ‘Dondy’ came from, well that’s what you started calling her… We were referring to her as Gran Sonny, but you said Dondy… and we all thought that was pretty cute!  Sometimes now you also say “Gran Sonny” and sometimes “Dondy Sondy”…

I hope that I can be to you, the wonderful mum that Dondy has been to me and the amazing daughter to her, that she is to her Mum.

I love watching your relationship with your Dondy grow and blssom, it’s so precious! xx

This is the bump (nicknamed ‘Vonu’) at just over 33 weeks!  I feel so big, I’m SURE I am bigger than I was full term with Ruby…. but then she was tiny and frank breech, so…..    We took quite some time to fall pregnant with Ruby, almost two years.  We  tried to fall pregnant to no avail and went on our honeymoon thinking we were coming back to start fertility treatment… and were blessed to find out that we had fallen pregnant naturally whilst away!  This second bub came to us much more quickly and were a little shocked, but so grateful.  Both times the significant factors (other than the obvious!!!) were a tropical island holiday and a few gin & tonics!!

Ruby was born at home, which was wonderful.  This time we will be birthing at the RBWH Birth Centre and are looking forward to that experience.

Bub is wriggling away now, such an amazing thing to experience!!

6 thoughts on “Darling Dondy! & Expansion update…

  1. Such beautiful pics today Karen! Love the one of Helen and Ruby, and love your gorgeous bump pic!
    Miss you all desperately xxxx

  2. Dondy Sondy is such a cute name:) Hopefully it will always stick! I love how cherished our littlies feel around their grand parents:)
    + Your bump is beautiful!

  3. You definitely have that pregnant lady glow & hubby looks as proud as punch!! The photo with Dondy is a keeper, Ruby will definitely look back on that one as a wonderful memento of their relationship.

Leave a Reply

